

Thomas Parisini, President

September 9, 2021

Tiago Roux Oliveira State University of Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro, Brazil tiagoroux@uerj.br

Dear Tiago,

On behalf of the IEEE Control Systems Society, I am pleased to inform you that you were selected as the recipient for the 2021 IEEE Transactions on Control Systems Technology Outstanding Paper Award, for "Model-Free Neuromuscular Electrical Stimulation by Stochastic Extremum Seeking", coauthored by Paulo Paz, Alexandre Visintainer Pino, and Ana Paula Fontana in the IEEE Transaction on Control Systems Technology, Vol. 28, No. 01, pages 238-253, January 2020. This award recognizes the paper's originality, relevance of the application, clarity of exposition, and demonstrated impact on control systems technology. Congratulations!

The award will be presented virtually during the CSS Awards Ceremony at the 2021 IEEE Conference on Decision and Control. The awards ceremony will be held Friday, December 17, 2021, time 14:30-15:45 UTC. The award includes a photo-engraved plaque and one conference registration (for you or one of your coauthors).

We plan to prerecord the entire awards ceremony, play the video live during the awards ceremony, and have a short live component at the end. Please stay tuned for further instructions regarding the video. If you could kindly acknowledge receipt of this email and let us know the address where the plaque needs to be mailed to, that would be great! If you could also talk to your coauthors and let Allison Fleisher (a.fleisher@ieee.org) know as to who will be making use of the complimentary registration, that would help us in the overall planning.

We would like our society members to learn the names of this year's award recipients at the CSS Awards Ceremony. To this end, I would like to ask you to refrain from making overt announcements of the award until after the award is presented, virtually, at the ceremony. Please feel free to share the news discreetly as you see fit until then.

I look forward to virtually seeing you later this year at the CDC.

Best Regards,

Thomas Parisini

President

IEEE Control Systems Society

Cc: Tryphon Georgiou Jan Tommy Gravdahl

